Involved Researchers

Below are researchers at these different faculties who applied for PhD Projects which are supported by the Centre for Urban Mental Health. We have projects involving researchers from the Faculty of Science (FNWI), Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences (FMG), Faculty of Medicine, and the Institute for Advanced Study.

Become an involved researcher

Please note that the list of involved researchers is subject to change. If you wish to be on the list, and you are involved with at least one of three faculties of Urban Mental Health Research Institute (Faculty of Medicine/AMC, Faculty of Science/FNWI, and Faculty of Social and Behavioral Sciences/FMG), please contact urban-mental-health@uva.nl.

Current PhD Project Applicants

Prof. dr. S. (Stanley) Brul

Faculty of Science, FNWI

PhD Student: Vacancy [More information TBA]

Email: s.brul@uva.nl

dr. S. (Sacha) Epskamp

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PI: Statistical and computational modelling, more specifically network analysis of symptoms of common mental disorders over time in relation to context and interventions

PhD Students:

  • Alessandra Mansueto ('Urban mental health and modelling symptom networks. From network analysis to interventions')

  • Maarten van den Ende ('Computational modelling of psychological and social dynamics in urban mental health conditions: the case of addictive substance use')

Email: mail@sachaepskamp.com

dr. R. J. (Ruth) van Holst

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Psychiatry

PI: Autonomy and psychiatric disorders

PhD student: Karoline Huth ("Networks of addiction and depression in multi-ethnic urban settings")

Email: r.j.vanholst@amsterdamumc.nl

dr. H. J. (Harm) Krugers​

Faculty of Science, FNWI SILS, BP Group

PhD student: Lotte Brinkhof ('Promoting preventive interventions based on resilience network for aging individuals in urban settings')

Email: H.Krugers@uva.nl

dr. H. (Helle) Larsen​

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PhD Student: Hanan Bozhar ('Understanding affective and addictive disorders in adolescents in an urban background using a life-course complex systems approach')

Email: H.Larsen@uva.nl

dr. M. H. (Mike) Lees

Faculty of Science, FNWI, Informatics

PhD Student: Maarten van den Ende ('Computational modelling of psychological and social dynamics in urban mental health conditions: the case of addictive substance use')

Email: M.H.Lees@uva.nl

MD. dr. A. (Anja) Lok

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Psychiatry

PhD Students:

  • Junus van der Wal ('Understanding the dynamics of depression in high-risk urban populations using a complex systems approach')

  • Hanan Bozhar ('Understanding affective and addictive disorders in adolescents in an urban background using a life-course complex systems approach')

Email: a.lok@amsterdamumc.nl

dr. J. (Judy) Luigjes

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Psychiatry

​PhD Student: Karoline Huth ('Networks of addiction and depression in multi-ethnic urban settings')

Email: j.luigjes@amsterdamumc.nl

dr. M. (Maarten) Marsman

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PhD Student: Karoline Huth ('Networks of addiction and depression in multi-ethnic urban settings')

Email: M.Marsman@uva.nl

dr. J. D. (Joram) Mul

Faculty of Science, FNWI-SILS

PhD Student: Amber Koert ('Exercise training and the prevention of stress in high-risk adolescents')

Email: j.d.mul@uva.nl

Prof. dr. J.M.J. (Jaap) Murre

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PhD student: Lotte Brinkhof ('Promoting preventive interventions based on resilience network for aging individuals in urban settings')

Email: J.M.J.Murre@uva.nl

dr. M. (Mary) Nicolaou

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Public Health

PI: Social determinant of mental health problems at macro level

PhD Student: Junus van der Wal ('Understanding the dynamics of depression in high-risk urban populations using a complex systems approach')

Email: m.nicolaou@amsterdamumc.nl

Prof. dr. K. R. (Richard) Ridderinkhof

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PhD Student: Lotte Brinkhof ('Promoting preventive interventions based on resilience network for aging individuals in urban settings')

Email: k.r.ridderinkhof@uva.nl

dr. S. R. (Susanne) de Rooij

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Epidemiology and Data Science


PhD student: Hanan Bozhar ('Understanding affective and addictive disorders in adolescents in an urban background using a life-course complex systems approach')


Email: s.r.derooij@amsterdamumc.nl

dr. B. C. (Barbara) Schouten

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PI: Adapting and testing interventions for vulnerable groups, including ethnic minorities

PhD Student: Alessandra Mansueto ('Urban mental health and modelling symptom networks. From network analysis to interventions')

Email: B.C.Schouten@uva.nl

dr. A. (Anouk) Schrantee

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), Radiology & Nuclear Medicine)

PhD Student: Amber Koert ('Exercise training and the prevention of stress in high-risk adolescents')

Email: a.g.schrantee@amsterdamumc.nl

dr. S. (Sanne) de Wit

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, FMG-PSY

PhD student: Lotte Brinkhof ('Promoting preventive interventions based on resilience network for aging individuals in urban settings')

Email: S.deWit@uva.nl

UMH Research Fellows

dr. Johan Bollen

dr. Ed de Bruin

Associate Researchers

dr. C. D. (Claudia) van Borkulo

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Email: C.D.vanBorkulo@uva.nl

dr. M.E. (Marlies) Brouwer

Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam UMC (location AMC), dept. Psychiatry

Email: m.e.brouwer@amsterdamumc.nl

MSc. L. S. (Brechtje) de Mooij

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Programme group: Preventive Youth Care

Email: L.S.deMooij@uva.nl

prof. dr. G.J. (Geertjan) Overbeek

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Programme group: Preventive Youth Care

Email: G.J.Overbeek@uva.nl

Affiliated Researchers

MSc. J. (Julian) Burger

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Email: J.Burger@uva.nl

MSc. O. V. (Omid) Ebrahimi

Visiting Researcher from Department of Clinical Psychology, University of Oslo
Currently at Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Email: o.v.ebrahimi@psykologi.uio.no

MSc. A. (Adam) Finnemann

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Email: a.t.k.finnemann@uva.nl

MSc. A. M. (Adela) Isvoranu

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Email: A.M.Isvoranu@uva.nl

MSc. J. C. (Can) Lokman

Faculty of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry

Email: c.lokman@amsterdamumc.nl


MSc. S. (Sercan) Kahveci

Visiting Researcher from Department of Psychology, University of Salzburg

Email: sercan.kahveci@plus.ac.at